Help me figure this one out

Standard

I’ve had a couple more elbow escape classes. You know, that one move I’m good at? In one of these classes, Instructor told me I was “on fire,” and said, “No point deductions,” which are my three favorite words.

Surfer Dude said, “That was so quick, I didn’t have a chance to commentate.” Poor guy.

In a slightly different elbow escape class, my partner said, “She’s got that down.”

“Yes. She. Does,” Instructor said as he walked away to watch another pairing.

“Those four stripes aren’t just for show,” Surfer Dude said.

I don’t know what it is with me and this particular move. Not only did I do it with my eyes closed, but I was even humming! Not intentionally to be a punk, mind you. It was just… happening.

Meanwhile, I hate to break this to you, but in the most recent triangle choke class, Instructor told us to lift our head and smile at our partner if they forgot to keep head control.

My partner smiled at me a lot.

Sort of like this, but I’m smiling because I’m so official now with my name on my lapel. (It works when you read it not in a mirror, okay?)

After telling you all about finally having a triangle choke class in which I maintained head control, I yet again lost my metaphorical balloons. I mean, how hard is it to remember to cup your hand around the back of your opponent’s neck? Yet elbow escape, with it’s roughly 12 steps, is easy-peasy?

The weird thing is, I don’t even know how I do the escape so fluidly.

Instructor gave the class a mini speech about not going too fast, conserving your energy, pausing between the steps, and I felt like he was directing that at me.

I’m like, “So you want me to think? That’s too big of a challenge.”

If I were to do so, I’d probably mess the moves up. But this technique doesn’t tire me out anyway. It’s like breathing.

So what gives?

If only all the moves could be so easy for me. (Blasted triangle choke. What did I ever do to you?)

If not the triangle, at least I have the rear naked choke (RNC) down.

Just calmly putting this nice young woman to sleep. Kidding. We tap before that happens. And presumably I ultimately got better elbow/chin alignment than this. What am I, a two striper?

At the end of an RNC class, we were told to avoid getting choked at all costs. I was up first to do the choking, and though my partner at that time (different from the one above) definitely made me work for it, I ultimately sunk the choke in. On her turn, we rolled over, which was fun, but she had to give up.

“Nice job tonight, Betsy. Very well done,” Instructor said. Will I ever tire of hearing those words?

No, people. The answer is no.

Then there was the time I was walking back to the wall to line up with everyone else and crossed Instructor’s path.

So, of course, he grabbed me in a guillotine choke.

“Ach!” I said and panicked to do the defense for this quickly.

“Break my posture,” he said. I complied and finished the move. “Wasn’t that easier that way?” he asked, as I walked the rest of the way to the wall, where everybody else was standing, watching. Judging.

“Yes,” I said.

Maybe just once when I’m on display in front of the whole class, I’ll do something correctly? Maybe?

But until I figure that out…

Trivia Time!

THE QUESTION: Freezing, sinking, or smacking are three ways to separate the edible seeds from the inedible pulp of this fruit.

My random commentary: I had no idea there were multiple methods to, presumably, easily extract these seeds. The only way I know is by staining your fingers and swearing. If anyone is good at any of the above proper techniques, please share details!

52 responses »

    • You are most certainly correct, Beth, on all counts (including the fruit)! I just don’t understand how my muscle can’t “memory” one simple
      move, but the harder things…. I guess I should be grateful it’s not the other way around.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. At our house we use “The Mighty Spoon of Whacking” to loosen the seeds from…pomegranites!

    (Then we drown them in a bowl of water while we free them from the skin–the water traps the squirts so the kitchen doesn’t look like I’ve been slaughtering hogs.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now I’m confused: Elbow escape? I wouldn’t have thought that you’d want your elbow to leave your body. I always thought it was kind of important to keep it where it is on your arm …

    Just like I’ve never understood pomegranates. People actually like to eat those? weird. Here’s a trivia answer for you: Did you know that pomegranate is the root word that gives us the word, grenade — as in hand grenade. Apparently in the 16th Century some French dude created a hand sized bomb that looked a bit like a pomegranate and shortened the name. It’s also where you get the military person name, grenadier, as in one who throws grenades. Although I’m sure that an elbow escape won’t help if someone throws one at you.

    Personally, I’d just avoid grenadiers altogether. Sorry, what was the question?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your elbow escape expertise (lots of “e”s there, sorry) reminds me of the first time I dragged my ten-year old to the driving range. He picked out a club, swung it, and launched the golf ball perfectly straight and long. Then he turned to me and had the audacity to say, “Was that okay, Dad?” There are countless ways the golf swing can go wrong and my son does it flawlessly the first time he tries? Kids don’t overthink things like adults do. Maybe you’re a kid inside of that Betsy gi. Or maybe you and Benjamin Button have a secret we’d all love to know about.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Was that okay, Dad?” Hahaha. What a cutie. Maybe that beginner’s luck thing is real, but you’re probably on to something about not overthinking things. “A kid inside of that Betsy gi.” Ha! I only act like one. But not in a good way.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It always amazes me all the things you have to keep track of in a live setting and it differs with each different sparring and practice partner. I guess practice makes perfect. And lots of smiling!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally cheated and looked through the comments for the answer to the trivia question. I was stumped. I have frozen raisins before–in order to chop them for a recipe–because I was told that it was easier to chop frozen raisins. It wasn’t any easier, though, so I skip the freezing step and just mush my way through them.

    Like

  6. I was hoping the answer was pomegranate, not that I have any advice about how to remove seeds gracefully. Laughed out loud at: “Will I ever tire of hearing those words? No, people. The answer is no.” Your honesty about who you are is refreshing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, the sinking technique had never worked for me. I have good luck just cutting it in quarters and pushing them out. Better yet, just buy a bag of frozen ones and use as needed!

    Liked by 1 person

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.