Newton’s Fourth Law: If Betsy is Baking, Something Will Go Wrong

Standard

When combing through Diane’s recipes for my last post, I came across the most brilliant image.

A heavenly light shone upon my computer. My eyes widened in delight. A choir of angels sang. I had discovered:

Z-Cake. You can see that ethereal light, can’t you? Or maybe it’s just a 100W bulb.

Sensei keeps giving me zucchinis, right? And he loves chocolate. This was perfect. But it got even better. I was told Coral would be in town for her birthday weekend and intended to come to class.

I text Mrs. Sensei.

The reason I asked about her favorite animal, is that for years I have forced enlisted my artistic children to make birthday cards and save me $3.49 for various people’s birthdays. Usually it’s for Joe’s classmates, so dragons have been drawn for many little boys. And girls. And grown men. And women. Because… dragons.

But Coral was also eager to spend time with her ailing, elderly dog, Pepper.

Here is precious Pepper. Shaping a cake into a dog was an intriguing challenge… for me to foist upon my children. We discussed sculpting techniques, making frosting in several shades of brown, and which piping bag tips would best resemble fur.

The next day, it was up to me to bake. The earth trembled a bit. As did I. This recipe, which Diane labeled, “Difficulty: Easy,” because she doesn’t understand what baking is like for mortals, required three separate mixtures.

Dry ingredients in one bowl: fine.

Wet ingredients in another included “1/2 cup sour milk.” Ummm? But she helpfully supplied: “Sour milk can be made by adding 1-1/2 tsp of either vinegar or lemon juice to a 1/2 cup of regular milk and letting it sit for 15 minutes.” And after those 15 minutes were up, the milk did indeed look sour, so I poured it in the bowl with some trepidation.

Then came the third mixture, which required pureed zucchini. No problem. Chop, chop, toss it in, turn on the blender. “Whiiiiiirrrrrrrr” and about three pieces chopped finer, but were nowhere near “liquified.” The motor ran, but nothing was spinning. I chopped smaller, took some out, tried again. Still noise but no spinny-spin, choppy-chop.

Text to Hubby. Time stamp shows this was an hour and 50 minutes into this process.

And when I began, I had turned on classical music, you know, to CALM me. It was at this point that I was picturing Chopin at a piano in the corner picking up the pace, making “Nocturne” sound more like “Flight of the Bumblebee.”

Possible solution? Turn to the neighbors.

But guess what? The back-up blender was just as useless. I needed to soften this zuke fast, so I semi-cooked smalls piles at a time in the microwave before blending it into a steamy mass of what looked like baby food, whether pre-or-post regurgitation could be up for debate.

Batch One. Uuuum… yum? Diane’s came out green. Why was mine a sickly yellow?!

I mixed my three bowls separately, almost as instructed.

“I was supposed to cream the butter, oil and sugar and THEN add the eggs, milk and vanilla?” Whoops. I threw it all in at once and stirred with gusto. Then gradually added the dry stuff, after having mixed it thoroughly, of course.

The dry ingredients looked sort of pretty, so I paused for a pic.

Next came the zucchini and “baking cocoa,” which I didn’t find at the store that morning, so I had improvised by blending chocolate chips into a powder prior to the zucchini fiasco.

Yes, yes, I got that excess flour off, don’t worry.

But was it any good?

Salmonella be darned. Yes, thankfully, it was good.

I got the pan in the oven while Chopin’s “Grande Polonaise Brillante” slowed to a normal tempo.

Then I paced, cleaned up a little, stared at the timer on the stove, and paced some more. I needed to pick up my kids at school. I would have to leave just as the timer went off on the lowest end of the bake time range. Would it be done in time for me to leave?

Of course it wasn’t.

When the timer went off, 3/4 of the inside jiggled when I shook the pan. Forget the toothpick test. That batter would reach out and suck that splinter of wood in whole if I even tried. I swear the toothpick in my hand looked and me and said in a tiny voice, “Please don’t make me.”

I was left with a difficult to decision: Keep the oven on and leave the house? (Obviously no.) Turn the oven off and leave the cake inside? (Would it then over cook in the waning heat?) Leave it in the oven but keep the door open? I liked this option, but it meant the oven light left on, wasting electricity. I opted to take it out and leave it on the stove, hoping I could bake it longer when I returned.

Once home again, I tapped Youngest Daughter to complete newly formed Plan B. Somewhere around Hour 2 of this adventure, I knew frosting the cake was out, as there was no way it would cool in time. So, as she set her books down and changed clothes, I gave the cake a few more minutes of bake time, pulled up the Pepper picture, and prepared a paint palette.

Three types of chocolate chips, plus the rest of the blended chocolate chip powder, butterscotch chips, and white chocolate chips.

She went to work.

She started with the eyes. As you can plainly see, the cake still didn’t finish baking, but there was nothing to be done at this point.
When an older sister wandered into the kitchen for a sample, Youngest Daughter admonished, “Quit eating my paint!”
You can see why Blog Buddy Mike Allegra once said of this daughter, “She is a national treasure. This is an intrinsic fact.”

And Coral’s reaction?

“Ohhhhhh myyyyy gossssshhhh…”
“I’m gonna cry.” (Pictured with Mrs. Sensei.)
Mission accomplished. 🙂

Fortunately, the cake tasted nearly as good as it looked, gooey center and all. It didn’t actually taste like chocolate cake with imperceptible zucchini flavor, the way Diane’s does. It tasted more like zucchini bread in cake form, but that’s okay.

And when class was over, and I returned to my car, guess what I found waiting for me.

Another zucchini. And so it begins again.

What do you think, y’all? Is my daughter an artist, or what? (I hope you read that as are-teest. If not, go back and read it again.) BTW, Coral’s please-help-me-save-dying-children-in-Africa medical school fund could use some love, if you felt so moved.

94 responses »

    • This is why I normally have Middle Daughter do the baking, but she was in school! I should have made her cut class. No doubt everything would have gone perfectly for her because she’s a natural! I, on the other hand… No bueno. And I’m sure I’ll find a nice, simple, easy use for the next zucchini! 😛

      And it was absolutely my pleasure. 🙂

      Like

    • I was inspired by the previous post to actually buy zucchinis (we don’t have a steady supply stream like you :D) — and that’s something we haven’t done in years and years and years.

      Being less creative than you, and since we haven’t seen this post yet, we simply sliced them into “sticks” and grilled them with spices: thank you for enriching our biome 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ooooh… spiced, grilled sticks. I wish I had read this before Hubby fired up the grill tonight. That sounds awesome! Well, they might end up being spiced, fried sticks instead, but I’m sure they’ll still be great (though less healthy). Thanks to EWe for this idea! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, that I haven’t decided yet. I did once or twice slice, bread, and fry in bacon grease using seasoned bread crumbs. I might try seasoned salt… Maybe go crazy with some lemon pepper zest. The sky, and my spice cabinet, are the limit!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I admire people who can concoct kitchen creations on the fly. I so often heard “to taste” or “add a pinch”… Idk what that means… I need precise recipes or who knows if someone says “use what it’s the pantry” if I’ll add chocolate to the spaghetti sauce 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adding chocolate to the spaghetti sauce! My sister adds sugar, and it’s actually not terrible. I can have a precise recipe and still screw it up. Actually, “can” isn’t the right word. More like “will.” My odds of success and/or failure based on following a recipe or winging it are pretty much equal, though the results skew heavily toward the “failure but still at least edible” side.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Clearly we’re two of a kind. My kitchen creations have traditionally included some … hiccups. Like the time I made a chocolate cake (but forgot the eggs… I called it “chocolate brittle” 🤪), the time I whipped cream, but got sidetracked … and learned how butter is made 😹, I could jam your comment section with the jams I get into in the kitchen 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome! Who knows. Your chocolate brittle could save lives, like of people wandering in the wilderness, nearly starving to death. Chocolate brittle is this earth’s lambas bread.

        Like

  1. Isn’t sour milk just buttermilk? I’m not baker, but Tara is, and when she has needed buttermilk for a recipe but hasn’t had any, she adds lemon juice to regular milk as instructed.

    The cake looks arf-ully good, by the way! No wonder you bow-wow-wowed Coral!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Super clever on the dog face using different chips. I’m very impressed with that.

    I’m going to tell you a secret: you don’t have to follow a recipe to the T. Just grating the zucchini would have been good enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not a big chocolate fan but I love lemons, so I found a zucchini/lemon cake recipe that was pretty good. In that one, the lemon completely obliterated the zucchini taste… which was fine. Your daughter did an amazing job on the decorations! If she wants to make me a cake for my birthday in January, I like dragons.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think making a dog portrait on that cake with different colored chips is freaking brilliant. My brain does not work that way. I would have been carving up that cake with pointy ears, and it would have been a freak show.

    But I’m pretty good at baking and I can tell you that just grating the zucchini would have worked just fine. I never follow a recipe to the T. My kitchen motto is do what’s easiest and don’t stress.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my Lord! I’ve made some baking substitutions before, but Becky… please let me bring the dessert if ever we meet. 🙂 Now, when it comes to actual COOKING, I’m not nearly so confident. You can cook or we can go to a restaurant – either is fine with me.
    I laughed out loud at the squash taunting you on your car. You are being toyed with.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Whoa – what an adventure! There was so much going on here. Yes, daugher is a national treasure – but so are you for trying. No wonder you are a martial art master – you can switch directions and pivot on a dime!! Happy birthday, Coral! And Betsy, I can’t wait to see what you come up with next. You are so adventurous – in every pursuit! Amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well you definitely get an A for effort Betsy! I’m sorry you had such a difficult time with this cake. When I blend the zucchini, I blend about a cup until it liquefies. Then leave that in the blender and add about a 1/2-1 cup of small chunks then repeat until the entire blender it full of the liquid. Don’t dump any out until it is as full as you want. Once that first liquid forms it should go pretty easy, for most people. 🤣Cocoa powder is unsweetened, did you use sweetened chocolate? I think the fact that you didn’t have cocoa powder may have caused your cake to turn out as it did, however, what a CUTE dog face!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • “For most people.” Ha! I did actually do it that way, and I think it got easier once the zuke was softened in the microwave. One time I made a chocolate cream pie with baking cocoa, and it turned out bitter. I was not so keen to use unsweetened cocoa powder again because of that experience. :/ I suppose the sugar offsets that in this cake?

      Like

  8. “Betsy Bakes a Cake” would make a great children’s book as long as she leaves out the gruesome parts. Like the plight of the toothpick (er, “Flight of the Toothpick”? Someone get Rimsky-Korsakov on the phone stat!) I’m still laughing over the toothpick’s plea and wondering what the voice of a little stick of wood would sound like. Also, I can picture young Betsy playing with her Easy-Bake Oven. She speed-reads the instructions, throws her perfect mess into the oven, and declares the final product a culinary triumph, no matter the look or taste.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That book title does has a nice ring to it… Very clever with the Rimsky-Korsakov comment. 🙂 And thank you for appreciating my little toothpick friend. His voice was rather squeaky, but that might have partially been from fear. I never had an Easy-Bake Oven. Maybe if I had, I would actually be good at baking now. I blame my mother for this. (And hope she reads this comment. 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: konbini – Touring My Backyard

  10. Your daughter did an amazing job!!! And it looks like the chocolate zucchini bread tasted good, too. I’ve never tried the combo of zucchini and chocolate, but it sounds good! It sounds better than zucchini in pancake batter–that’s a whole other story, though.

    Like

    • My sister has done zucchini pancakes and eats them with sour cream and applesauce. I’m… intrigued. Someone else shared with me a recipe for zucchini fritters. If I get more zukes, and have the patience and determination, I might try one of those recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Betsy, quick suggestion – zucchini pineapple muffins. As for baking, my wife was baking for my parents visit and ten minutes into cooking, she said in horror, “I think I put too much flour in.” The cake overflowed onto the oven and we were peeling it off when my parents arrived. “Someone’s been baking she exclaimed as she entered.” Oops. Keith

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your wife and I are cut from the same cloth. Please let her know I’m raising a hand in solidarity with her. Also, my condolences on that cake situation. I hope it wasn’t too hard to clean and that you had ice cream as a back up dessert. 😛
      Zucchini pineapple muffins–is that a thing? I’d try it!

      Like

  12. Pingback: A few relationship funnies | musingsofanoldfart

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.