Developing Reflexes

Standard
Developing Reflexes

It was a large Reflex Development class Friday night, including four Master Cycle students. Often the MCers are paired with lowly white belts like me so as to help us. One of those MC women loves to be helpful, which is great, but also… not helpful. Should I be paired with her, I was formulating how I might kindly ask her to let me think through the moves rather than her telling me them.

When it was time to partner up, I hung back, letting the chips fall where they may, and taking whomever Instructor assigned me. Everyone who stepped from the wall looked around at each other and quickly paired up. By staying against the wall, I became invisible. Thus, a new strategy was born. When there’s an odd number of people (and I’m the oddest one), the straggler goes to…

Surfer Dude.

Score!

He’s second in command and sometimes teaches, giving Instructor a day off. In fact, recently, I was demo partner with SD instead of being the SD (demo partner) for Instructor. That was kind of trippy and fun.

Come on, Betsy, get it! SD loves to make me work for those arm bars. Instructor has since taught me a new way to break the arm free. My first thought was, “I’ve got to remember to use this on SD.”

Partnering with SD meant top notch training time. “Retighten after you grab your wrist,” he said at one point. That I had forgotten. “Grab this wrist,” another time. That I should have known. When I completed one move, I thought correctly, he said, “What’s missing?” I didn’t know. “I’m still on my back. I’m supposed to be on my side.” Arg!

Sometimes I would try to do a move and he would. Not. Let me. Then I’d say, “What am I forgetting?” And he’d wait a second. I’d say, “Oh, yeah,” and switch to the correct grips. Perfect training partner!

Added bonus: Because he didn’t really need to take a turn doing the moves, it meant more reps for me, and he was amiable enough to let me practice moves not on the menu, like the dastardly triangle choke: his favorite, and my hardest for whatever weird mental-block reason.

“Cross your ankles,” he said. Doy! “Head control.” OF COURSE! “That was two point deductions, but at least you knew what they were.” Son of a biscuit.

You’re only allowed 10 mistakes to pass the test, and there are 36 lessons, each with several slices, and about 5 thousand 3 hundred billion point 75 quatrillion details each.

Sigh.

When the camera was near, he took a turn. “You’re trying to make up for that picture of me planting a foot on you, aren’t you?” He chuckled.

But, there were high points in this particular class:

Instructor demonstrated a few times with Thoughtful One, a blue belt, and a couple of times even with me. Honored! Fortunately, I didn’t make any mistakes when he had me be “good guy” and do the moves.

Another time, he announced the next moves for free-style fight simulation. “Do this, this, then this. Anyone want to see it first?”

“No,” I said.

“Yes,” a woman said at the same time.

“No,” Instructor looked at me. “Yes,” he looked at the other woman then back at me.

I shrugged as in, “Whatever. Either way.”

“Want to show them?” he asked me.

I stood and he immediately charged at me, arm cocked for a punch. I ducked, caught his hip, spun behind him. “Nice S-grip,” he said. Block the ankle, rear takedown, lean south, swing the leg, arm bar, done. People clapped.

“You got a clap for that,” he said. “They should have clapped longer. That was perfect.”

It actually was not perfect. When I took him to the ground, I watched in horrified slow-mo as my elbow hit the mat a half second before my shoulder.

Point deduction.

Instructor didn’t see that because he was in front of me, but the test will be filmed so he can carefully scrutinize every millisecond. (When I took him down in class the next morning, however, my elbow tuck was perfect. I drummed the mat several times in celebration before letting him up. :P)

Later in class, that nearby woman said to Instructor, “She’s great,” pointing at me. Then she turned to me and said, “Whenever you’re here, we are so impressed by you,” indicating her perma-partner and herself.

I inclined my head toward a shoulder. “Awwww,” I said.

But I wonder if you caught the real accomplishment in the above story. It wasn’t the students clapping or the kudos. It was that he asked if I wanted to show the move, and I got up without a moment’s hesitation. To be attacked by Instructor. In front of everyone.

When he asked, in a flash my mind said, “I’ve got this.” And that’s kind of amazing.

Oh, yeah. One other highlight. (Finally! someone is thinking. 😉 )

Mrs. Instructor in the houuuuusssseeeee! We even rolled a bit together, which was fun.

We still haven’t rescheduled our play date, but at that time, I had told her, “We have to be sure to get a pic together for the blog.” She said, “Thanks for telling me in advance. That way I can be sure I don’t look dead inside.” Haha!

Can you see why I like her?

SD was our cameraman. “You look sort of mellow,” he told us. “Is that what you’re going for?”

“Tell us a funny joke,” I said.

“I can’t think of any.”

“I know. SD trying to write song lyrics.”

That did it! He smiled too, but said, “That one hurt me.”

“Just messing with you,” I told him. If I ever do hear or read one of his songs, I should tell him for every line I don’t like, he gets a point deduction.

Trivia!

Last post I was quoting Dave Matthews Band lyrics, by way of your trivia Q answer. Here’s the next question:

She played Princess Mia Thermopolis of Genovia and shares a name with Shakespeare’s wife.

89 responses »

  1. Good one! I think Reflex Development Class is the way to go, Betsy. It sounds like you’re working at developing knowledge of the moves so they can become reflexive, instead of having to think it through. It sounds like Surfer Dude has developed knowledge quickly. Keep at it. You’ll get there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve been able to finely hone my reflexes to the point that I doubt it can be improved. Yup, I sit down at a table and they ask, “What will you have?”

    Before they can finish I’ll be saying, “Gin and tonic.” Never miss and always on point. No better feeling in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knew the trivia, I think, without looking (honest!) : Anne Hathaway? There’s a cute/funny show called with two detectives that give the show its name, Shakespeare and Hathaway, where, funnily enough, the guy’s name is Hathaway and the lady’s name is Shakespeare 😀 Yes, I’m easily amused!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Oh, that’s clever. I like that they’ve swapped things. Or the NYC Sherlock where Watson is played by Lucy Lui. I liked that show. Huh. Might have to remember that for a rewatch.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Does Psych count? 😛 Also enjoyed Monk. I don’t watch many, I guess. The BBC Sherlock I didn’t like too much (though Watson was great) because Sherlock was too obnoxiously arrogant. I cannot stand arrogance. Have we talked about Leverage? I’m sure we have. Have you tried it yet??

        Liked by 1 person

      • Why would it not count? I loved, loved, loved Leverage (though the new reboot… not as good). If you loved Leverage as much as I did, what did you think about Burn Notice and Lie to Me?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe because Psych is more comedy than mystery?

        Absolutely agree on the reboot. Did you watch all the episodes recently?

        The echelon goes Leverage, Lie to Me, Burn Notice. You?

        Revenge? Nolan Ross is one of the greatest characters ever on TV.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Then did you ever watch Chuck? More of a spy show than a mystery, but the funny is certainly there. And Scrubs for laughter (medical show, not detective, but funny…).

        Never watched all the way through the new Leverage: think it’s worth it?

        Burn Notice, Lie To Me, Leverage, all of them great! How about White Collar? Seen that one?

        Like

      • Yes and yes! And yes to White Collar! Probably second fave after Lev. Finish the new Lev. Though some eps were bombs and embarrassments, they pulled through at the end.

        Covert Affairs?

        Like

      • Oh, that depends on what you like.

        Let me see: did you like Miss Fisher? (Australian show, delightful stories, enchanting dialog, strong female lead, huge attention to detail, set in the early 20th century)

        How about a miniseries like Magpie Mysteries?

        Once I learn more about what you like, I can make a recommendation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oops, given the emphasis on Magpie Murders (you’ll see), I’m embarrassed to have mistyped it! 🙃 It’s written by the same guy who wrote some of the early episodes of Midsomer Murders, set in a gorgeous English County that has a festival or some awesome event every week, but has to be the most dangerous county in all of Britain 🤣

        Liked by 1 person

      • “the most dangerous county in all of Britain” Hahaha! Okay. I’m getting overwhelmed. Give me a few months to get caught up to you. Then we’ll regroup, and I’ll see what I still need to see. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I thought of two others I’ve seen! Blue Bloods and Foyle’s War. Foyle is a detective in WWII England. He’s amazing.

        And why is it that on your blog we have these super deep philosophical discussions, and over here we talk about movies and TV? I guess that shows the caliber of your posts vs mine! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Foyle’s War IS amazing, and if you think I’m being an echo chamber, here’s proof I really did like it!

        10 of the best Detective shows

        Both that and Broadchurch were more on the other end of the spectrum from being comedies, though Broadchurch has the nest Doctor Who in the main role.

        I’m already working on my next post, it’s (like many of my posts) all about tv shows… And given that I’ve seen so many of these shows and more, it’s clear who spends more time in front of the boobtube 🫣🫨🤪

        Liked by 1 person

      • Omg, we JUST finished The Detectorists (not metal detectors, Detectorists 🙃), including the movie, seen that one, too?

        And Doc Martin we’ve also seen, all seasons!

        Our library has Shakespeare & Hathaway, and Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, and Death in Paradise, and speaking of, what did you think of Murder in Suburbia?

        Like

      • THERE’S A MOVIE?!?!?! Okay. Where have I been?

        Good thing summer is coming! I’ll stick with the other two to start, but then I’ll have to add Death in Paradise and Murder in Suburbia. What?!

        And I love that you’ve seen Detectorists. Probably the quirkiest show, but I so enjoyed it. (Shocker!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Red and Red 2. Stranger than Fiction. We’ve already talked about Knight and Day. You don’t do foreign, but I think you NEED to make an exception for The Intouchables. Black and White 30s/40s Thin Man series of movies. Yeeeeeeeessssss!!!!

        Like

  3. Aww, that’s a sweet picture with the Mrs. I am stumped on the Princess reference, so it’s probably from a movie 🤣and I don’t remember the Bard’s wife’s name.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mrs Instructor took a lovely photo as did you!

    It’s great that you like to be paired with the most skilled student and instructor as those are the ones you learn the most from.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It just occurred to me your expression always defaults to a smile during your workouts. No matter the position (or how compromised) you’re always camera-ready – nice! Also, that first photo looks like you could pause the combat for a few bicycle ab reps like I have to do in my own workouts (I’m sure SD wouldn’t mind). Finally, Anne Hathaway of course, who we just saw in a pretty good/serious rom-com “The Idea of You”. 40 already (gulp!) and still looking great.

    Like

    • That was half smile, half grimace, and all, “Give me that arm so I can break it!” SD is always a punk when it comes to arm bars. 🙂 I do love me some bicycle crunches. 😉 And hooray for Anne and well done to you, Dave!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m pleased you enjoy doing that which you do, but no way would I do it. Therefore I’m thrilled to read about it whilst sitting still, knowing no one is going to attack me for snorts and giggles.

    Answer to question: Anne Hathaway. Favorite quote from that movie: “We don’t run, we hasten.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is a fantastic quote! No doubt from Julie Andrews? It’s been a long time since I’ve seen that movie. I remember it was cute, though.

      Thank you for enjoying my joy. I’m happy you can do so from the comfort of a cozy chair in a delightfully decorated home. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You always look so happy in your class photos. In a choke hold? You’re smiling. Someone’s locked you onto the mat with their leg? You’re smiling. I haven’t seen any pictures of you getting a wedgie, but if I did? I’m pretty sure you’d be smiling. It’s wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Betsy, I’m clapping along with the class for you! 😀 It sounds intense, amazing and requiring endless concentration! I’m with you on the best tutors are those that give you a chance to think it through first, maybe get it wrong a bit … and then chip in with the masterful advice!

    Liked by 1 person

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.