You know you spend a lot of time on the computer when…

Standard

you hold up some empty envelopes from the mail and ask your husband, “Can I delete these?”

He just looked at me and said, “If by ‘delete’ you mean ‘throw out,’ then, yes, you can delete them.”

I cracked up at myself, but really, how sad is that?

What’s worse is it’s spreading to our children.

The five-year-old invented a game where she picks up items in the cupboard and reads off the letters to see who can guess the item first. She recited letter by letter, and in the same tone, added, “Period. Space bar….”

Sigh.

It’s a technological age, I guess.

32 responses »

  1. Haha, if only we could delete physical items. Think of how great that would be for the environment. As long as it doesn’t extend to people. I’d hate for my sons to ‘accidentally’ delete me…

    Like

  2. Love that! This is a timely post for me too because I was amused at a big meeting/work event thing yesterday when two separate people who were doing presentations said something along the lines of “Or you can contact us the old-fashioned way, by email.” Ha!

    Like

  3. My son was on the phone with his grandparents. He was four at the time and really wanted to play with his toys. He announced that he was going to put them on pause and hit the hang up button.

    Like

    • I found this on the Internet:

      “I would like to apply fore a job as an editor of your paper. I halve a computer, and it has spellcheck, and it wood seam that this is awl I really knead.

      “I had originally intended too dew this last weak, but then I happened to reed my horoscope in The Times, and it said: “Put on the reigns before you lose control of everything. Of coarse, once I red this, I gnu it wood be better to weight four a more auspicious thyme.

      “Aye thought at first that maybe I should caul, but then I decided it mite be better to right. I truly believe that I would be a grate editor–know matter watt–rein or shine. Eye wood make accuracy inn spelling the mane ingredient of my editorial rain. Just to prove my hart is in the rite place, I maid sure this letter was perfect–I ran it threw Spellcheck.

      “I really due wont this job, and I no I could bee a reel asset, butt if yew don’t higher mi, I won’t whale.”

      Like

  4. When my kids were little and playing in the yard out back, I would occaisionally hear one of them yell, “Pause the game!” (Usually that meant someone needed a bathroom break.) And this was back when they were only allowed 30 minutes each of computer time on Saturday and Sunday.

    Like

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

