The laundry gods are smiling upon me

Standard

Perhaps they’re just pleased that I’m finally washing all those clothes.

Here’s my laundry method. There’s a reason I’m spelling it out for you. Wait for iiiiiiiittttt!

1. Procrastinate until laundry basket is full to overflowing.

2. Pick up scattered articles of clothing that have fallen off the laundry heap and shove them back in the basket.

3. Heft the load to the washing machine.

4. Open washing machine…speed up steps here because you, presumably already know how to do laundry, and if not, you probably shouldn’t really be learning from me.

5. After I pour in the detergent, I set aside some large article of clothing, or, as in today’s example, a baby blanket, and put the detergent cup upside down on said article to drain out more of the good stuff while I fill the washer.

6. Fill the washer.

7. Lift up-turned detergent cup so as to toss in last item.

8. If you’re lucky, you will find that the laundry gods are smiling upon you:

This is what I saw when I was done getting the last dregs out of the detergent cup. I couldn't help but smile back and immediately think, "I need to tell my blog followers about this!"

This is what I saw when I was done getting the last dregs out of the detergent cup. I couldn’t help but smile back and immediately think, “I need to tell my blog followers about this!” You are indeed welcome, my faithful friends.

28 responses »

  1. I just toss the cup (used to measure the detergent) into the wash … but I apparently have been missing the laundry happy faces!! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

    • Michelle, I used to just toss the cup in too, until one of them broke in the wash. If I didn’t have a back up detergent ready to go, and therefore another cup to use, I would have been in trouble. Hence my new methodology. But, yea, I would have missed the “message from the gods” otherwise!

      Like

  2. The last time I had every stitch of laundry done was on a November weekend three years ago. My husband took the kids to visit family. I had the hampers completely emptied, all the clothes ironed, and all of the sheets stripped, washed, and then put back on the beds. It was a wonderful feeling!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Week (7) My Saving Ways: Prepping | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

