This post stinks

Standard

I heard a familiar cry coming from the bathroom. My three-year-old was yelling, “Mooooommmmmyyyy, I poooo-oooooped!”

My three favorite words.

As I was coming down the hallway, I heard a chuckle. As I rounded the doorway, she started all-out laughing. She was standing with her back to me, bent over, dirty bum high in the air. The laughing made her bottom shake. Such a pleasant sight. What a silly little girl.

People who don’t have kids think the bottom-wiping ends when the diaper stage is over. How wrong they are. It only gets better. But don’t worry, concerned parents, I am doing my best to train her to wipe herself. I know she’s gotten good at washing her hands; therefore, the time has come.

In other news, which is also stinky, two great men left the world today: a man named Deacon Ken Finn, who was very holy and whom I was honored to have baptize my third child (yep, the one in the above story), and my grandfather, Captain Harry Heckel, who was 10 days shy of 98. Not a bad lifespan there. He was famous in the boating world for being the oldest man to sail around the world by himself. He did this going one direction at age 78, and then the other at 89. You can read more about it in his travel memoir, Around the World in 80 Years—The Oldest Man to Sail Alone Around the World—Twice! co-written by my mother. May both men rest in peace.

14 responses »

  1. My eight year old drinks so much water, and therefore, has to potty frequently, but is so busy to get to the next thing, she will forget to wipe herself! I still have to keep ointment for those occasional rashes! 🙂

    Like

  2. I sometimes think I should still be wiping my 7-year-old, what with all the surprises I find in the laundry.

    Sorry about your loss! They sound like two great men indeed.

    Like

    • Yes, I know what you mean about the occasional skid marks on the undies! My little girls aren’t always the dainty princesses they pretend to be! That and all the announcements my youngest makes at the dinner table of, “I gassy-ed.” It’s her made up word. I approve of it, as I haven’t introduced them to the word, “fart.”

      And thanks for the sympathy. 🙂

      Like

  3. Your children’s stories bring back so many happy memories! I am sorry to hear of the passing of two great men in your life, but it looks like they led a good life and I am sure they heard, well done faithful servant as they laid eyes on our Lord.

    Like

  4. I read the book, “Around the World in 80 Years” and enjoyed it so much that I bought a copy for my brother-in-law (who is himself an old “salt”). I highly recommend it!

    Like

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

