Funny things my three-year-old has said

Standard

When I got her her lunch, she declared, “I’m so proud of you!” Thanks, kid. I’m proud of me, too.

After the beach I told her we would go home, take a bath, and watch a movie. She responded, “That sounds . . . LOVELY!” We’ve been spending a lot of time with our Australian friend who uses that word frequently.

“I don’t want my juice to get soggy.” Try to figure that one out.

Here’s a good one she did: When the basket went around at church, not wanting to be left out of participating, she took one of the empty envelopes from the holder on the back of the pew in front of us and tossed it into the basket before it got away. That will be disappointing for the money counters.

Fertilised meat eater ant queen beginning to d...

This one looks like it could use a bath. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And now one from my six-year-old: When I was giving her a bath last night, she discovered an ant in the tub. “Silly ant,” I said. If it wanted a drink, it should have taken it from a much smaller body of water.”

“Or maybe it’s here for swimming lessons,” my daughter suggested. “Maybe its mommy and daddy brought it here to learn to swim.”

First of all, that ant definitely wasn’t swimming, so I removed it to the trash can when my daughter wasn’t looking. I simply responded, “Mmm.”

Then she said, “Do mommy and daddy ants really do that?”

“No honey, I don’t think so.” Ah, the innocence of children.

4 responses »

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

