If only it were that easy kid, believe me

Standard

My five-year-old, L, was yelling at the two-year-old, E, to move out of the way of the tv. She couldn’t see the last moments of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.

Snow White

If that guy’s your prince, I would have kept waiting, honey. Is that a shirt or an apron?

I employed the appropriate motherly tool of yelling from the kitchen, “E, down in front!” Somehow, that didn’t work, as L was continuing her verbal tirade against the door who would make a better window. Finally, I walked into the living room, only to see the words, “The End” on the screen.

“Relax, L. The movie’s over,” I said and walked out again. Yep, parenting at its finest, folks.

L, on the other hand, came up with a brilliant solution for avoiding future such egregious situations involving her little sister. 

“Mom,” she called to me. “E’s birthday shouldn’t be in March. We should move it closer so she’ll be older and listen better.”

Don’t I wish that were possible sometimes!

8 responses »

  1. And when you are older you want to slow down the birthdays…Is there a time somewhere in between where the time passes at just the right rate? Something to ponder.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Ruth Institute Blog » If only it were that easy kid, believe me

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

