Sharing the joy of potty training

Standard
A bunch of Jelly Belly jelly beans resting com...

I’d poop in the potty for these!

Before getting married and having children of my own, I lived in the garage of my brother and his family. When their third child was potty training there was a big celebration every time the boy used the potty. In addition to cheers and clapping, there were jelly beans! The good kind–Jelly Bellies that came in a huge tub from Costco. Not only did the boy doing the job get a bean, but his older sisters did, too. I suppose that was a good motivation for them to encourage their little brother to keep up the good work.

But the best part was, even though I wasn’t even in the house or aware of the celebration, one of the girls would come into my room in the garage saying, “Here, Uncle Paul!” not forgetting to bring me jelly beans, too.

Learning from the example of my nieces, I treat my children with the same courtesy during the otherwise unenviable time of potty training.

Paul, father of 3

2 responses »

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

