Teaching a toddler about Jesus…sort of

Standard
Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Stained glass at St John the Baptist’s Anglican Church, Ashfield, New South Wales. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My two-year-old son said to me, “Mommies, Jesus DIED.”

“Yes, he did,” I replied.

“But I super miss him. I super miss him, Mommies!”

“It’s okay! He’s still here with us!”

“But maybe he got hit.”

“I think he did, yes.”

“Maybe he got hit by a crocodile. Or maybe a HIPPO!” . . .

We’re getting there. Slowly.

-Anne, mother of 3

9 responses »

  1. Few things are worse than getting hit by a hippo. Maybe an elephant….though I imagine the Romans were probably not to fond of elephants; second Punic War and all.

    Like

  2. Being hit by a hippo or a crocodile is a much kinder intro to Jesus for a two-year-old than the truth is. Good enough, and good start! My daughter was always startled by the crucifix. She found much more appeal, symbolwise, in a fat Buddha. 🙂

    Like

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

