Lost in translation

Standard

Being from Chile, I’m not aware of all the American slang terms. It took me a long time to figure out why I got so many strange looks from other moms when talking about my son’s pacifier habits. I told them he has to have it all the time, and gets upset when he doesn’t have it. He likes to keep it in his mouth…. Only I wasn’t using the word pacifier. I used my son’s seemingly innocent term for it: “doo-doo.”

Pia, mother of 7

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

