The blame game

Standard

My kids are attracted to Sharpees like flies to…well, they like the markers, alright?

After having to wrestle it  from my children, I started keeping the last remaining Sharpee on the spice rack, out of reach of little curious artistic fingers. When I woke up from a needed, but dangerous nap one day, I discovered that my 4-year-old had used the Sharpee to color on canned goods and yogurt containers. Although no real harm was done, I was still angry that she had gotten the forbidden fruit. After yelling at her for doing what she knew she shouldn’t have done, she calmly replied, “Well, why didn’t you put it away?”

Becky, mother of 4

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

