Seven Heaven?

Standard

We were at a store when my daughter asked me to buy her a piece of candy.  I agreed, but she couldn’t decide which one she wanted.  I finally insisted she pick one so we could leave.  On the way out of the store she decided she had made the wrong choice and begged me to go back.  When I refused, she told me that I was a terrible mom.  I said “You’re 6 years old.  What do you know about being a mom?”  She said “Well, I’ve been watching you for six years now and I don’t really think you’re doing a very good job.” Anne, mother of 7

Sometimes things get a little “heated” around our house, and the kids can remind us in subtle ways to watch what we say:  When my son was about 3 or 4 years old, I did something that apparently really bothered him.  He squinted his eyes and shook his finger at me and told me “Get in your freakin’ room”. Anne, mother of 7

My 12-year-old son was invited with a few other friends to sleep at his cousin’s house.  In the middle of the night, they decided it might be fun to walk about a mile into town to the Dunkin’ Donuts and get a snack.  Since the only people in Dunkin’ Donuts in the middle of the night are the staff and the local police……they got a ride home.
           A few months later, my daughter happened to post a question on FaceBook: “If you woke up one morning in jail, and had to describe your experience in only 4 words, what would you say?”  My son’s response:  “Donuts are worth it”. Anne, mother of 7
One response »

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

