Is biting a legitimate parenting technique?

Standard

My son was a biter. He was so excited about this new-found ability that came with having teeth, he couldn’t help but gnaw on everything in sight. One day when I had dozed off on the couch, he awakened me by sinking his pearly whites into the flesh of my arm. I screamed and jumped so high, that if I had been a cartoon, I would have been hanging from the ceiling by my finger and toe nails. As it was, my immediate reaction was retaliation. I grabbed his arm and bit him right back, as hard as I could. It was awful. He cried and cried, and I felt horrible. I know it was definitely not the right thing to do. But, on the upside, he never bit a living thing again! Isabel, mother of 1

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

