The barter system is alive and well

Standard

Here’s a quick little something that made me smile. I hope it will for you as well.

As the truly faithful blog follower of mine knows (all two of you), my parents visited recently. Since everyone in my family, including my grandparents, loves to cook except me, (how’d that happen?) I was totally keen to let my ‘rents take over the kitchen during their nearly two-week stay.

When they continued their journey onward from our house, and we all breathed a deep sigh of relief (kidding!), my parents left some excess produce, that I, with my lack of real culinary knowledge or interest, knew I wouldn’t end up using.

This is when I texted a friend of mine who is one of those crazy fools who loves cooking and eats healthy ALL THE TIME. (Darn that celiac disease!) I offered her a bag of onions and some jicama. She was able to come at a time when I knew I would be out of the house, so I left the bag at the front door for her.
When I got home later and entered the house through the garage, I walked around to the front door to be sure she had stopped by and gotten the goods. When I opened the door, I saw this:

Is that an invisible child wearing nothing but shoes? Or is it just shoes?

Is that an invisible child wearing nothing but shoes? Or is it just shoes?

I couldn’t help but smile and chuckle. Her youngest child is two years older than my youngest, so she passed these out-grown shoes on to us. It was so cute and thoughtful.

Gotta love a good old-fashioned trade!

Lazyhippiemama, I dedicate this post to you!

9 responses »

Share what you think of this story, or share one of your own!

